Jump to content
Washington DC Message Boards

Three components of spiritual knowledge followed by Shankara


Recommended Posts

Three components of spiritual knowledge followed by Shankara

158. Jnaanabhaktisevaakarmaani tasyaapi Rukminyaa iva.


Translation: The knowledge, theoretical devotion and practical devotion as service are the three subsequent steps followed by Shankara also as in the case of Rukmini.


Explanation: The knowledge of the goal, the knowledge of the correct path to reach the goal and the knowledge of yourself that you are not already the goal is called ‘triputi’ or the three components of spiritual knowledge. This is the first step. After getting the knowledge of the goal, the interest on the goal called as devotion is developed and this is the second step. Due to devotion, one gets the association of God. Now starts the practical devotion, which is sacrifice of work and fruit of work without aspiration for fruit, to get the real grace of God. This is the third step. Rukmini heard the details of Krishna from sage Narada and this is first step. In the second step, she developed love to Krishna. Due to this love, Krishna married her. She did not aspire to become the queen, but became the servant by pressing the feet of Krishna continuously. The commentaries of Shankara refer to the first step. The prayers composed by Shankara refer to second step. Shankara left even His old mother and was intensively involved in the mission of God through out His life and this refers to the third step. Thus, Shankara represents the total spiritual path of three subsequent steps so that none can add anything after Him.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...