Guest bird watcher Posted July 1, 2004 Report Share Posted July 1, 2004 If you think you'll sneak into Virginia's High Occupancy Vehicle lanes without having the correct number of people in the car, you may want to think again. Stiffer fines went into effect July 1, along with points on your driver's license. "There are a lot of companies that will pay the fines to make sure their employees will get to work on time, but those points are assessed directly to the driver," Virginia State Police Sgt. Wallace Bouldin tells WTOP's Kristi King as she rode along with him during a Thursday morning sting. Bouldin says the excuse that the restrictions were not in effect at the time you got on the highway won't work if you're pulled over by a trooper. "If you're in there when the lane restrictions come in effect, you will get a ticket," he says. While a first offense will only cost you $50 in fines and $39 in court costs, fines for a second offense have doubled from $100 to $200. A third offense is no longer a $250 fine. It's $500 and three points on your driving record. A fine for a fourth offense is $1,000, up from $500. It also comes with three points. "When you are convicted of an HOV violation, the court notifies DMV, which posts the conviction to your driving record where it remains for five years," says Marc Copeland of Virginia's Department of Motor Vehicles, in a news release. Points on your driving record may lead to increased insurance costs. Drivers who accumulate 12 points can lose their licenses. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.